Cookie Dough

Lately, I’ve been feeling so lost and disconnected that I drew a blank when I tried to define these feelings, for myself or for others’ benefit.

How do you that your dreams appear to have become an even more distant possibility? That you’re swimming without a life jacket and you don’t know how to swim? That you built mere sandcastles too close to the sea?

That you will never be…done?

And then, Lucy’s Football helped me out by quoting from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Lucy says:

I think of Buffy telling Angel, “I’m cookie dough. I’m not done baking. I’m not finished becoming whoever the hell it is I’m gonna turn out to be. I make it through this, and the next thing, and the next thing, and maybe one day I turn around and realize I’m ready. I’m cookies.”

In fact, not only did I have a way to define what I was feeling (yes, labels help to process things), I realized some other (important) things:

  1. It’s okay to be cookie dough.
  2. I will be “done” when it is my time to be “done”.
  3. Good cookie dough will turn out to be good cookies.

Must keep this in mind to stop feeling so lost. Maybe a cookie will help?

One thought on “Cookie Dough

  1. Pingback: Tunnel | madstickynotes

Leave a Reply

