Reality Check

A friend told me how, when she called a really good friend of hers, she found out that people had been talking about. To be more precise, she found out what people had been saying about her.

Now, I didn’t know what the problem was, specifically, but I knew better than to ask. She’s already a private person. But even if she wasn’t, it was obvious that she hadn’t heard anything good from her friend. Hence, the anger, the sadness; the desire to hibernate.

I’m sure ALL of us, at one point in our lives or another, have been a victim of wagging and gossiping tongues. Completely disregarding whether the info they are sharing is right or wrong or what the consequences are for their victims, of course. But this last thing wouldn’t hit home until they get cut by someone else’s razor-edged tongue.

So, as was expected, I texted my friend back immediately, telling her to not pay heed. There is no other option but to brace yourselves and turn a blind eye to such things.

Easier said than done, of course.

If I was in her place, I would have had the same reaction. And in fact, no words in a text would have consoled me.

But that is all you can do, sometimes: put your faith in the higher power and the few ‘words’ that you see on your smart phone screen.

Here, I’m saving my text message reply in an effort to be able to take my own advice. A reminder, possibly in harsh words. But it is a cruel world and survival demands being cruel to your own self.

“Baby! You need to stop focusing on people. They NEVER stop talking. Even after you go into permanent hibernation six feet under!”

Think before you speak. It’s not that hard.

Leave a Reply

