Wanting

Sometimes, other people’s words describe a condition more accurately than anything I can even begin to imagine. I don’t really like Sheldon, except the following excerpt speaks to me. A lot.

And that, of course, was what she wanted more than anything in the world: to be something special, to be Somebody, to be Remembered, and never, never, never, never to die…[there was a] bittersweet nostalgia that filled her, but it was a nostalgia for a future that had not happened yet, as though somewhere, sometime, she had lived a wonderful life and was restless to live it again…[Her wanting] was a fierce and urgent longing to be recognized, to lift herself above the billions of people who teemed the earth, so everyone would know who she was…She did not know what she wanted, only that she ached desperately for it.

Sidney Sheldon in The Other Side of Midnight

I am sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Wanting

  1. I found myself nodding all the way as I meandered through the paragraph. It is a constant tug-o-war with the self.. I would agre most with the implicit desire to be recognised, to be differentiated from the rest of humanfolk. Sometimes, the desire stems from within…a battle with oneself.

    Thank you for sharing an insightful excerpt.

    PS: Apologies for the slow response. I have been catching up on reading this weekend.

Leave a Reply

