Kind Of Love

This poem is a re-blog from: Kind Of Love

by planaquarium

I want that cardigan and sweater kind of love
That I’ll hold your umbrella in bad weather kind of love
The opening of Buick doors and visiting hospital floors,

I want that trembling, heart-arresting kind of love
That morning ambling, afternoon of resting kind of love
The paying when you said you would and saying that my cooking’s good,

I want that burning 50-yearing kind of love
That turning up my hearing aid to hear you kind of love
The I’ll let you hang up that elk if you will dance to Lawrence Welk,

I want that memory of agile kind of love
That growing stronger even when it’s fragile kind of love
The knowing where your pills are kept and slowing down for pain-filled steps,

I want that sweeping, you can’t fight it kind of love
That sweetening your tea because you like it kind of love
The folding of your sheets and whites to hold your aching sleepless nights,

I want that wrinkled, call-of-duty kind of love
That when I look at you, I still see beauty kind of love
The veined and spotted holding hands now chained and locked in tarnished bands,

I want that cardigan and sweater kind of love
That better, worse, together now forever kind of love…

Leave a Reply

